Home run!

I love experimenting and trying new things in the kitchen. Sometimes things don’t work out – like my brownie dessert from a few weeks ago. But sometimes, I hit it out of the park. Crunchy Buffalo Ranch Chicken is one of those recipes.

Toot, toot.

Hear that?

Just me . . . tooting my own horn.

šŸ˜‰

Crunchy Buffalo Ranch Chicken combines spicy buffalo wing sauce with tangy ranch seasoning, all rolled into crispy French-fried onions. This recipe is definitely a take-out fake-out. It doesn’t mimic a restaurant recipe, per se, but it certainly tastes fast-food worthy!

DSC_0651 DSC_0653

I work for two food trade magazines and, as part of my job, from time to time I am required to attend industry trade shows. At one show, I visited a company’s booth for a demonstration and received a bag of these crispy fried onions. They’re the crunchy garnish that restaurants often serve over top of salads, burgers and steaks. The bag sat in my pantry before I realized that the expiry date was soon approaching and I should try something with them. The back of the bag had recipes on it, including one that used the onions as breadcrumbs for chicken. When I turned to the trusty ole’ Internet, I found that other people had done this with rave reviews, and made some modifications to the recipe.

I started by cutting two boneless, skinless chicken breasts into nugget-sized pieces. You could leave the chicken breasts whole, but this ensured more of the crunchy coating covered each bite.

DSC_0642
Prepare your dredging station. My usual breading process starts with dipping the meat in a beaten egg, followed by breadcrumbs and seasonings. In this recipe, I replaced the egg with my favourite buffalo wing sauce, and crushed up about one cup of fried onions into a breadcrumb consistency. For an extra kick, I added a package of ranch seasoning into the onions (usually I use homemade ranch seasoning, but I had an extra package kicking around). I’ve seen smaller packages of these fried onions in the salad dressing/crouton aisle at the grocery store. If you can’t find them, don’t sweat. Just substitute something else crunchy for the breading, like corn flakes – but don’t skip out on the ranch seasoning!
DSC_0645
The chicken pieces were dunked into the buffalo wing sauce and rolled around in the onion and ranch powder mixture. Line up the chicken pieces on a parchment-lined baking sheet and bake at 400 F for about 20 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through. DSC_0649

The buffalo wing sauce makes the chicken so tender, and with a crunchy coating and bite sized pieces, this chicken is perfectly poppable.

DSC_0650

You guys, this chicken is the bomb. I’m not even kidding . . . I would make this (and eat it) every day if I could. And it got a double thumbs up from hubby – and my mama! She may or may not have kept the chicken I gave her to try all to herself. Hey, I’m not judging . . . I may or may not do the same thing!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fiery Ginger

Cooking Up Bold Flavors and Bold Techniques

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

Mix and Match Family

mangia bene. beve bene. viva bene.

Fresh-Season.com

A Beauty, Fashion, and Lifestyle Blog (and Proudly Canadian!)

spiffykerms.com

CALIFORNIA LIVING, CANADIAN MADE

Iowa Girl Eats

Delicious gluten-free recipes using everyday, in-season ingredients.

